Google knows where you are 24/7. Here’s how to make it stop


Where you go, Google knows. Here’s how to stop it from understanding where you are on a regular basis. 


Getty Images

You turned off location historical past in your Google account, so now your Google apps cannot observe you, proper? Not precisely. While disabling that setting seems like a one-and-done, some Google apps are still storing your location data. Merely opening the Google Maps app or utilizing Google on any platform for a search logs your location down to the sq. foot with a time stamp, in accordance to an investigation from the Associated Press.  

Turning off location historical past solely removes where you’ve been from the Google Maps Timeline function, which logs your location with sure information at a selected time. Google’s support page on the matter is complicated. It says that even when turned off, “some location data may continue to be saved in other settings,” like your net and app exercise. (We reached out to Google for extra data and can replace this story after we hear again.) But if you take a couple of extra steps, you can stop Google from understanding where you are 24/7. 

Just notice that turning off this default setting does have some drawbacks. While Google’s settings could appear intrusive to some, in addition they assist domesticate an ultra-personalized on-line expertise, reminiscent of by customized advertisements. 

Here’s how to actually flip off Google monitoring, and what the results of doing so is likely to be. 

How to flip off Google’s location monitoring 

To fully shut down Google’s capacity to log your location, this is what to do:

1. Open up Google.com in your desktop or cellular browser

2. At the highest proper, log into your Google account if you aren’t already.

3. Select Manage your Google Account.

4. In the Privacy & Personalization field, choose Manage your information & personalization.

5. Scroll down to the Activity Controls, and choose Manage your exercise controls.

6. There you’ll see a field referred to as Web & App Activity. From there, you can slide the toggle change to off

7. There will likely be a disclosure to guarantee you perceive what disabling this setting will do earlier than you choose Pause.

google-maps-logo-phone

Stop Google from storing your places from Maps.


Angela Lang/CNET

What does this stop Google from storing? 

Turning off this setting prevents Google from storing location markers related to particular actions and stops the corporate from storing data collected from searches or different exercise. Turning it off doesn’t simply preserve your present location non-public, but in addition your IP deal with and different delicate data — like your private home deal with. 

Note that to use sure options, just like the Maps app, Google will nonetheless want to entry your location. However, finishing the steps above prevents it from storing your exercise. 

What are the professionals and cons of turning off Google monitoring? 

Turning off monitoring means you’ll see much less related advertisements, much less useful search suggestions, and total get a less-personalized expertise utilizing the search engine and its apps and companies. For those that get pleasure from customized advertisements, turning off monitoring will stop Google from predicting what you may care about. However, for many who prioritize privateness over every little thing, turning this setting off could also be well worth the lack of specificity. 

The backside line: You can preserve your privateness and lose the customized web expertise, or proceed to let Google share your data with third events and proceed to see related advertisements and search strategies. 


Now playing:
Watch this:

Google knows where you are



6:00

Will I lose any saved data if I turn off this Google setting? 

No — your saved data will remain untouched. Disabling tracking will prevent Google from storing future information, but doesn’t delete any prior data that it gathered. To delete that past information, follow these steps: 

1. On a browser, go to Google’s main page and make sure you’re logged in. Click the profile icon in the upper right-hand corner and select Manage your Google Account.

2. Select Data & Personalization on the left-hand tool bar or select Manage your data & personalization in the box on the page. Both options will bring you to the same place. 

3. Under Activity controls, select Location History.

4. Select Manage activity, and it will bring you to Google Timeline.

5. In the bottom right corner, click the settings icon immediately to the left of the Map button, and select Delete all Location History.

6. Check the box to indicate that you understand and want to delete all Location History.

7. Click Delete Location History.

For more, check out how to see if Google is tracking you, automatically delete your Google history, how much data Google collects, and how to hide where you’re going from Maps.   



Source link

This Web site is affiliated with Amazon associates, Clickbank, JVZoo, Sovrn //Commerce, Warrior Plus etc.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Adblock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.